Skip to main content

Chester County Press

Democrats win three open seats on Kennett Square Borough Council

11/04/2015 01:43PM ● By Steven Hoffman

With six candidates vying for three open seats on Kennett Square Borough Council in Tuesday’s election, the three Democrats emerged as winners by wide margins.

Doug Doerfler led the way with 463 votes, Wayne Braffman earned 435 votes, and Jamie Mallon picked up 425 votes to surpass the three Republicans on the ballot. Jennifer MacFarland received 214 votes, John Thomas finished with 201 votes and Mark Krahforst picked up 184 votes.

Doerfler, Braffman, and Mallon will be sworn in during the first borough council meeting in January.

In other borough council races around the area, Brinis Miller, Mark Johnson, Michael Ranieri, and Clyde Jacobs were elected to the four seats that were up-for-grabs in West Grove, while Stephen Cummings and David Besselman were unopposed for two borough council seats in Avondale Borough.