Skip to main content

Chester County Press

Voters to decide numerous county-wide and municipal races on Election Day

10/26/2015 02:56PM ● By Steven Hoffman

When Chester County voters go to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 3, they will be making decisions about numerous municipal and county-wide races. Here’s a look at some of the contests that will be decided:

County-wide races

In the race for Chester County Commissioner, three of the four candidates are incumbents and are expected to win a seat on the three-member board. The Republican candidates are Terence Farrell of West Chester, who has served as a county commissioner since 2008, and Michelle Kichline of Tredyffrin Township, who was appointed to fill a vacancy on the board in December of last year.

On the Democratic side, the candidates are incumbent Kathi Cozzone of Uwchlan Township and Bill Scott of West Chester Borough.

In the Chester County District Attorney race, incumbent District Attorney Tom Hogan is a heavy favorite against challenger Tom Purl, the Downingtown Borough resident who earned the Democratic nomination.

Incumbent sheriff Carolyn Bunny Welsh of Pennsbury Township is seeking another term. She is being challenged by Democratic nominee James Bell of West Goshen Township.

Two West Chester Borough residents, Tisha Mae Brown, a Democrat, and Matt Holliday, a Republican, are vying for the position of Prothonotary, with Holliday a favorite.

Republican Terri Clark, a resident of West Goshen Township, is running for the position of register of wills. Clark is being challenged by Lani Frank, the Democratic nominee for the position.

Republican Rick Loughery, the incumbent recorder of deeds, is being challenged by Hans Van Mol.

School board races

In Avon Grove’s Region I, Republican incumbent Charles F. Beatty III is looking to retain his seat against Democrat Gwen Livingston. In Region II, where two seats are up-for-grabs, Jeff Billig and Tracy Lisi are the nominees on the ballot. Bonnie Wolff and Herman Engle, both incumbents on the school board, are seeking another four-year term in Region III.

There are no contested races for the Kennett School Board as five incumbents are all seeking re-election. In Region A, Republican Dominic Perigo, Jr. and Aline Frank, who cross-filed, are the two incumbents seeking to return to the school board for four-year terms. Rudy Alfonso and Joseph Meola are the two candidates in Region B. Incumbent Michael Finnegan is seeking another four-year term in Kennett’s Region C.

Township supervisor races

Many of the township supervisor races offer only as many candidates as there are seats on the ballot. This is the case with incumbent Glenn Frederick in London Britain Township, who is seeking another six-year term. Tiffany Bell, a Republican incumbent in West Nottingham, is seeking another six-year term, while Charles Wilmont is seeking an unexpired two-year term on the board of supervisors. In London Grove Township, Raymond Schoen is the nominee on the ballot for township supervisor. Ron Kepler is looking to return for another term on the Lower Oxford Township Board of Supervisors. Longtime incumbent Dale Lauver is seeking another six-year term on New London Township’s Board of Supervisors, while Mary Anne Steel is seeking an unexpired four-year term. There are two Republican candidates, John Auerbach and Donna Dea, seeking the two seats up for election in Franklin Township.

Jay Ennis and Radar O’Connell are the candidates on the ballot for two seats that are open in Penn Township.

In Elk Township, Estace Walters, the incumbent vice chairman, is seeking another term on the board of supervisors.

Howard Reyburn is the candidate on the ballot for a seat on the Upper Oxford Township Board of Supervisors.

Borough council races

The two Avondale Borough Council candidates are Stephen Cummings and David Besselman. There are two at-large seats on borough council that are open.

In West Grove Borough, the four candidates who are on the ballot for four seats on borough council are Clyde Jacobs, Mark Johnson, Brinis Miller, and Michael Ranieri.

                                                              Judicial races

In some of the judicial contests, voters will choose three of the following nominees for Justice of the state Supreme Court: Democrats David Wecht, Kevin Dougherty, and Christine Donohue, Republicans Judy Olson, Mike George, and Anne Covey, and independent/judicial alliance candidate Paul Panepinto.

In Judge of the Superior Court, voters will decide between Democrat Alice Beck Dubow and Republican Emil Giordano.

For Judge of the Commonwealth Court, Republican Paul Lalley is being challenged by Michael Wojcik.

For Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, in the 15th judicial district, voters will decide between Julia Malloy-Good, the Democratic nominee, and Allison Bell Royer, the Republican nominee.

After winning both the Republican and Democratic nominations in the Primary Election, Matthew Seavey is seeking another term as the Magisterial District Judge of District 15-4-04.

Like what you're reading? Subscribe to Chester County's free newsletter to catch every headline