Skip to main content

Chester County Press

Dansko co-founder receives award

12/12/2013 06:28PM ● By Acl

In ceremonies held Dec. 4 in New York City, Dansko Co-Founder President and CEO Mandy Cabot received the 2013 T. Kenyon Holly Memorial Award for outstanding humanitarian achievement, for her efforts in spearheading company-wide efforts of volunteerism.

Presented by the Two Ten Foundation, the award is bestowed upon an individual in the footwear industry who exemplifies the philanthropic spirit and character of the late T. Kenyon Holly, past president of Two Ten. 

Founded in 1939, Two Ten Footwear Foundation is the footwear industry's national charitable foundation, and is committed to strengthening America's footwear community by providing emergency financial assistance at times of crisis, college scholarships for footwear employees and their families, community building opportunities, career affinity group networking and other social and career services. In 2012, Two Ten provided $2.5 million in financial assistance and scholarships to footwear families in times of pressing need. 

“Each one of us is responsible for the reduction of our impact of the environment. I am confident that social consciousness does not have to come at the cost of good business,” Cabot said. “We are all committed to the betterment of the human condition.”

“Mandy has been doing some remarkable things with [husband and Dansko co-founder] Peter Kjellerup,” said Two Ten President Neal Newman. “Her work in sustainability and business leadership in [her community] is done out of tremendous passion and dedication. It would be hard to find a person who better embodies generosity and humanity.” 

Under Cabot's leadership, the Dansko Foundation encourages each company employee to dedicate 20 volunteer hours a year with a charitable organization of their choice, together with a matching cash donation for hours worked. The Dansko Foundation was established in 2003 to inspire, support and facilitate charitable giving to not-for-profit community based groups and local chapters of national organizations. The Foundation has awarded more than $500,000 to over 80 groups.