Skip to main content

Chester County Press

Democrats maintain majority, sweep county row offices

In Chester County, more registered Democratic voters cast their ballots by mail or visited one of the 230 polling places on Election Day than their Republican counterparts—and that higher level of participation resulted in big wins for Democrats in various state, county, and municipal races.

Incumbent Chester County Commissioners Marian Moskowitz and Josh Maxwell were re-elected by wide margins on November 7, securing a Democratic majority on the three-person board for another four years.

With four people vying for the three open seats, Maxwell earned more than 87,000 votes while Moskowitz tallied nearly 87,000—comfortably ahead of the 68,000 votes that won Eric Roe a spot on the board. Roe, a former state representative for Pennsylvania’s 158th House District, will replace Michelle Kichline, the incumbent Republican County Commissioner, who decided not to seek another term on the board.

Chester County will have a new District Attorney in 2024. Christopher de Barrena‐Sarobe, a Democrat, defeated Ryan L. Hyde by more than 20,000 votes county-wide. Deb Ryan, the Incumbent District Attorney, was elected as a Chester County Court of Common Pleas judge.

Like Ryan, Chester County sheriff Fredda Maddox was successful in a bid to become a Chester County Court of Common Pleas judge. In the contest to elect a new sheriff, Kevin Dykes, currently the chief deputy sheriff, defeated Republican Roy Kofroth. The margin of victory in this race was also approximately 20,000 votes.

Similarly, in the other county row office races, the margin of victory for the Democratic candidates was between 12 and 14 points.

Michele Vaughn fended off the challenge from Republican Terri Clark to win another term as the county’s register of wills. 

Debbie Bookman sought and won another term as prothonotary, defeating the Republican nominee, Michael Taylor.

In the Recorder of Deeds race, incumbent Diane O’ Dwyer defeated Republican challenger Brian Yanoviak.

In addition to Ryan and Maddox, voters elected Sarah Black, Nicole Forzato, and Thomas McCabe to be judges of the Court of Common Pleas.

Information on election results can be found at