Skip to main content

Chester County Press

Dozens of local, county, and statewide races will be decided on Election Day

Chester County voters will decide on majority control of the three-person Board of Commissioners on Election Day, as Democratic incumbents Marian Moskowitz and Josh Maxwell are seeking re-election, while the Republican Party has turned to Eric Roe and David C. Sommers in the bid to win back the majority on this board. Roe, a former state representative for Pennsylvania’s 158th House District, is a familiar face for many in the county.

Republicans held an iron grip on county government for generations until Democrats successfully flipped all the county executive and row offices over the course of the last two election cycles in which those seats were contested. The results of the Tuesday, Nov. 7 election will determine if Democrats retain the majority for four more years, or if the Republicans can quickly reclaim majority control. Michelle Kichline, the incumbent Republican County Commissioner, decided not to seek another term.

Chester County will have a new District Attorney in 2024. Incumbent District Attorney Deb Ryan is seeking to be a Chester County Court of Common Pleas judge. In the District Attorney’s race, Ryan L. Hyde is the Republican nominee, while Christopher de Barrena‐Sarobe is the Democratic nominee.

Debbie Bookman is seeking another term as prothonotary, and she is being challenged by Republican nominee Michael Taylor.

The register of wills contest is between the incumbent Democrat Michele Vaughn and challenger Republican Terri Clark.

The Recorder of Deeds race is between Republican Brian Yanoviak and the Democratic incumbent Diane O’ Dwyer.

With Chester County sheriff Fredda Maddox seeking to be a Chester County Court of Common Pleas judge, voters will elect a new sheriff. Kevin Dykes, currently the chief deputy sheriff, and a resident of East Marlborough Township, is the nominated Democrat for Sheriff. On the Republican side, Roy Kofroth is seeking become the new sheriff. He lives in West Bradford Township.

The candidates who are seeking to become a Judge of the Court of Common Pleas are Dave Black, Andy Rongaus, Deb Ryan, BJ Redmond, Don Kohler, Nicole Forzato, Fredda Maddox,  Thomas McCabe, Lou Mincarelli, and Sarah Black. Voters will select no more than five of these candidates on the ballot to fill the available positions that are up for election this year.

There are a number of district magistrate positions up for election this year.  Scott Massey is unopposed in his bid to win re-election as the district magistrate for Court 15-3-05. 

District judge Albert Iacocca is being challenged by Peter George Mylonas in the race to preside over District Court 15-3-04.

There are a number of borough council races that will be decided on Election Day.

In Oxford Borough, there are three candidates seeking four-year terms—Kathryn Cloyd, Raul Juarez-Lara, Jr., and Bill Fitzpatrick. Cloyd is the incumbent council president. Juarez-Lara, Jr., and Fitzpatrick were both appointed to fill vacancies on council so they already have experience on council. There is also a two-year unexpired term up for election this year, and incumbent Peggy Ann Russell is seeking to fill that term.

The Avondale Borough Council candidates for two seats up for election are Paul Morgan and Lucas Ortiz, Jr.

Eric King, Julie Hamilton, Joel Sprick, and James Miller are candidates vying for three seats on Kennett Square Borough Council.

In West Grove Borough, there are four seats up for election. The candidates are Dan Knabb, 

Kristin Proto, Shelley Mix, William Temme, Jr., Andrew Martin Toolan, and Michael Ranieri.

Supervisor candidates

Many townships will be electing supervisors in this election cycle. Here’s a list of many of the candidates who will be on the ballot on Nov. 7.

East Marlborough Township (Vote for two)

Ellen Sosangelis 

Burling Vannote 

Jake Elks 

Danielle Chamberlain

East Nottingham Township (Vote for two)

Sam Goodley, Jr. 

John Wallace

Elk Township (Vote for one)

Albert Jezyk

Franklin Township (Vote for one)

Dawn Dowling

Lynn Weber

2-year unexpired term (Vote for one)

James German

Betsy Odgers

Kennett Township (Vote for one)

Pat Muller

Steven Lucas

London Britain Township (Vote for one)

Aileen Parrish

Russell McKinnon 

London Grove Township (Vote for two)

Michael Summerfield

John Irwin

David Connors

Two-year unexpired term (Vote for one)

Megan Mraz


Lower Oxford Township

Kevin Martin

New Garden Township (Vote for one)

Stephen Allaband

New London Township (Vote for one)

James Annett

Dale Yates

Penn Township (Vote for one)

Carlton Snow

Dwayne Degler

Upper Oxford Township (Vote for one)

Charles Fleischmann 

West Nottingham Township (Vote for one)

Ryan Sanders 

Candace Miller

School board races

Here’s a list of the candidates who are on the ballot for the various school boards in southern Chester County:

Avon Grove School District

Region I (Vote for one)

Dorothy Linn 

Greg Morgan 

Region II (Vote for two)

Nick Taylor 

Jacquelene Smiro

Kenneth Roark 

Region III (Vote for two)

Bonnie Wolff 

Herman Engel 

Joseph Lake

Oxford Area School District

At-large (Vote for two)

Jenifer Warren

Lou Robinson

Regina Hughes

Mark Patterson

Region I (Vote for one)

Tenile Dewees

Georgeanna Singley

Region II (Vote for one)

Brian Washburn

Kaitlin Bell

Region III (Vote for one)

Debbie Vendrick

Dee Wiker

Kennett Consolidated School District

Region A (Vote for two)

Lenda Carillo

Christopher Lafferty 

LaToya Myers

Region B (Vote for two)

Jay Snoke 

David Kronenberg 

Lynn Golden-Mirarchi

Bryan Shrouds

Region C (Vote for one)

Michael Finnegan

Michael Keane

Unionville-Chadds Ford School District

Region A (Vote for one)

Rashi Akki 

Isabelle Romine 

Region B (Vote for one)

Victoria Baratta

Bob Sage

2-year unexpired term

Lori Peters

Mary Kate Loomis

Region C (Vote for three)

Jody Allen 

Erin Talbert 

Brian Lamb 

Brian Schartz 

Madeline Werner 

Britain Hammell

Pennsylvania voters are also going to decide races for the Justice of the state Supreme Court, Judge of the state Superior Court, Judge of the Commonwealth Court, and several judicial retention questions.

Polling locations are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Nov. 7. If you are in line by 8 p.m., you will be able to cast your ballot.

More information about the upcoming general election, including the location of polling places as well as specimen ballots, can be found on the Voter Services page on the county website at