Skip to main content

Chester County Press

Unionville High School celebrates 15 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

09/27/2022 02:54PM ● By Steven Hoffman
The National Merit Scholarship Corporation recently announced that 15 Unionville High School students have been named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists. 
“We are so proud of the 15 students who have been recognized as National Merit Semifinalists,” stated Dr. Amy Jenkins, Unionville High School Principal. “Through their efforts and hard work, these students have distinguished themselves as exceptional academic leaders at Unionville High School. Their families and the entire community should be proud of their accomplishments and for representing the Unionville-Chadds Ford School District so well.” 
Approximately 16,000 Semifinalists were named in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,050 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $35 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. Over 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.
The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships in which students are entered by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) , which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.5 million entrants each year from about 21,000 high schools.
Finalists typically represent 1 percent of the total initial entrants and are chosen based on their test scores, academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, and honors and awards received.  
Unionville High School’s National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists include the following: Elias Bomberger; Thomaz Bonato; David Chai; Clifford Han; Aydan Heilman; Maggie Liu; Madelyn Lowe; Suhan Neema; Ryan O’Leary; Akash Patel; Ria Saxena; Pranavh Vallabhaneni; Jyostna Venkatesh; Daniel Zhu; and Aria Zutshi.