Skip to main content

Chester County Press

Tighe selected as president as Oxford School Board also welcomes three new members

12/19/2021 09:44PM ● By Steven Hoffman
Joseph Tighe was once again selected to serve as the president of the Oxford School Board during the reorganization meeting at the district’s Administration Building on Dec. 7.
The meeting began with a roll call of the five members of the board—Tighe, Jennifer Harrison, Mark Patterson, Howard Robinson, and Robert Tenga—who are in the middle of their terms on the board.
Judge Scott Massey, who presides in the District Court in Oxford, administered the oath of office to the four newly elected school board members—Michael Blessington, Kristen Dean, William Kloss, and Jennifer Kehs. Dean is beginning her second full term on the Oxford School Board after being elected in November, while Blessington, Kloss, and Kehs are all newcomers to the board.
Once the new members were sworn in, they took seats at the table with their new colleagues to handle the remaining items on the evening’s agenda.
When the floor was opened for nominations for board president, Tighe was once again nominated by his colleagues. The school board voted 6-2 in favor of having Tighe continue to serve as president. Kehs nominated herself for the position, and that motion was defeated.
This is Tighe’s 11th year on the school board, and he has served as the board’s president since 2016.
Next, the floor was opened for nominations for the position of vice president. Tighe nominated Patterson, a longtime school board member who was not present at the reorganization meeting. Tighe said that he had spoken to Patterson and he had agreed to once again serve as vice president if he were nominated. The motion to approve Patterson as vice president was approved by a 6-2 vote.
The school board formally established its meeting nights for the coming year. Work sessions will be held on the second Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. Regular school board meetings will take place on the third Tuesday of each month, and those will also begin at 7 p.m.
Kloss was selected to serve as the Oxford School Board’s representative on the Chester County School Boards Legislative Council.
Harrison was then nominated as the chair of the Policy Review Committee. Kehs and Tighe were appointed to serve on the school board’s Policy Review Committee.
The board also appointed Robinson to serve at the Chester County School Authority from January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2027.
In the New Year, the Oxford School Board will meet again for a work session on Tuesday, January 11 and the regular meeting on Tuesday, January 18.