Skip to main content

Chester County Press

Franklin supervisors organize for 2019

01/15/2019 11:25AM ● By J. Chambless

By John Chambless
Staff Writer

At their Jan. 7 organizational meeting, the Franklin Township Board of Supervisors elected officials for the coming year. John Auerbach was unanimously re-elected as chairman. Donna Dea was elected vice-chairman.

The board then unanimously voted to appoint:

Joan McVaugh as Township Manager and Township Treasurer;

Sharon Norris as Township Secretary;

Lamb McErlane as Township Solicitor;

LTL Consultants as Township General and Traffic Engineer, Township Building Inspector/Zoning Officer and Code Enforcement Officer;

Ragan Engineering as General Engineer;

AECOM as Township Sanitary Engineer .

Dave Philipp was appointed to a one-year term on the Vacancy Board through Dec. 31, 2019. Mark Harris was appointed to a four-year term on the Planning Commission through Dec. 31, 2022. Zach Elwyn was appointed to a four-year term as Planning Commission alternate through Dec. 31, 2022. Harold Walls was appointed to a one-year term as Emergency Management Coordinator through Dec. 31, 2019. Chuck Phillips was appointed to a five-year term on the UCC Appeals Board through Dec. 31, 2023.

The 2019 Township meeting schedule was also approved. Board of Supervisors meetings will be held on the third Wednesday of each month beginning at 7 p.m. Planning Commission meetings will be on the first Thursday of each month beginning at 7 p.m. The joint Historical Commission/HARB meetings will be held on the first Tuesday of every month, as needed, beginning at 7 p.m.

The supervisors continued their discussion of how to gather the 558 signatures required to get a referendum on the 2019 May primary ballot that would allow the retail sale of alcohol in the township.

Dea will be working on a flyer to send to all residents in the township, outlining that allowing the sale of alcohol in restaurants or retail outlets would stimulate economic development in the township. Registered voters, 18 or older, are eligible to sign the petition. Signatures must be gathered between Feb. 19 and March 12. Based on its population, the township is eligible for one liquor license by right. If the referendum is placed on the ballot, all political parties can vote, Republican Democratic and Independent. Independents cannot usually vote in a primary election.

For more information, visit

To contact Staff Writer John Chambless, email [email protected].