Skip to main content

Chester County Press

Three new inductees named to U-CF Wall of Honor

07/16/2018 11:19AM ● By J. Chambless

By John Chambless
Staff Writer

Three new names have been added to the Unionville-Chadds Ford School District Wall of Honor.

Last week, the district announced that the 2018-19 inductees are Harry Hammond, Jean Russell and Dora McQuaid. The district selects Unionville alumni each year based on their lifetimes of achievements and contributions. Those selected have made significant accomplishments in their personal or profesional lives through community service, or have demonstrated a lifelong commitment to educational excellence.

Anyone can nominate a candidate for recognition during a spring nomination period. A nominating committee, comprised of representatives from the school district and community, reviews the nominations, while a voting committee determines the winners. Winners receive year-round recognition on a wall display at Unionville High School, as well as in-person recognition during homecoming weekend on Oct. 5, 2018.

Harry Hammond, Class of 1957, is a PGA Master Professional, and has devoted his life to teaching golf to youth in the western Philadelphia suburbs.

Jean Russell, Class of 1969, taught first grade at Chadds Ford Elementary School for more than 20 years, and is acclaimed by her fellow teachers, administrators and parents as a leader among her peers.

Dora McQuaid, Class of 1986, is an award-winning poet, activist and speaker on domestic and sexual violence, helping victims restore their lives. She teaches at the university level in Arizona, and holds workshops and outreach programs across the nation.

As of last year, the district has paid tribute for more than 30 alumni on the Wall of Honor:

2016 Honorees

Bernard Baily, Class of 1973 - Dairy farmer
David Scott (deceased) - Class of 1991 - United States Navy Seal
Tom Simpers, Class of 1960 - Simpers Insurance and Financial Agency

2015 Honorees

Gregory Engel, Class of 1995 - Chemistry professor at The University of Chicago

Barbara (Gillespie) Marshall, Class of 1968 - Air Force Master Sargent, bank officer, and small business owner

Bayard Victor Taylor, Class of 1957 - Marine Corps officer, rancher, and businessman

2014 Honorees

Helen Martin - Class of 1963

Ray and Mary (deceased) McKay - Class of 1960 and 1952

Samuel Stone Wilson (deceased) - Class of 1950

2013 Honorees

Thomas A. Cloud, Sr., Class of 1963 - Law enforcement officer, investigator, veteran
Mary (Larkin) Dugan, Class of 1952 - Educator, author, community volunteer
Douglass L. Jackson, Jr., Class of 1978 - Dentist, educator, advocate
Robert G. Struble, Jr., Class of 1961 - Conservationist, scientist, educator
Robert F. Weer, Sr., Class of 1953 - Public servant, community volunteer, veteran

2012 Honorees

Cleopatra Andreadis, Class of 2002 – TV producer
Becky Baily, Class of 2006 – Dairy farmer
Allen K. Forssmark, Class of 1971 – Electrician and volunteer
Karl J. Kuerner, Class of 1974 - Artist
Paula (Francisco) Ott, Class of 1968 - Judge

2011 Honorees

Ralph Burton, Class of 1962 – Chief of Police, West Whiteland Township
Robert McDonough, Class of 2002 – U.S. Army helicopter pilot
Amanda McGrory, Class of 2004 - Athlete
Doug Mooberry, Class of 1978 - Craftsman
James Spellman, Class of 1972 - Surgeon

2010 Honorees

Chris Barber, Class of 1961 - Journalist
Susan (Charsha) Beach, Class of 1960 – Administrative assistant
Fredrick May, Class of 1929 - Gardener

2009 Honorees

Kate Barber, Class of 1994 - Olympic athlete
Charles Brosius, Class of 1948 - Agriculturist, business leader
Janet Dadds, Class of 1968 - Educator
Tom Musser, Class of 1952 - Business leader

To contact Staff Writer John Chambless, email [email protected].