Skip to main content

Chester County Press

College Board names 91 AP scholars from Avon Grove High School

12/18/2013 09:07AM ● By Acl

A total of 91 students from Avon Grove High School earned AP Scholar Awards in 2013 in recognition of their achievement on AP Exams, including five graduates who earned National AP Scholar honors,  the highest award possible. 

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program (AP) provides students with the opportunity to take college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams, which are scored from 1 to 5, with 5 being the highest score.

The National AP Scholar award is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Avon Grove High School’s National AP Scholars are Christopher L. Gutnajer, Anne C. Lertola, Justin T. Ramberger, Sarah L. Tilton, and Charles E. Trouba.

A total of 30 Avon Grove students, including the five National AP Scholars, qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are Colin N. Bartley, Emily O. Beale, Connor E. Carr, Nicole E. Cimabue, Sean Cleary, Brendan A. Cote, Derek M. Cote, Ryan A. Cowan, Matthew N. Criscuolo, Arthur C. Forbes, Alyssa L. Francis, Richard T. Gardner, Bradley Gimbernat, Christopher L. Gutnajer, Carli L. Huber, Matthew D. Kelly, Anne C. Lertola, Nicholas L. Ly, Sarita P. March, Erin E. Mitchell, Christopher J. Persaud, Hannah M. Poore, Justin T. Ramberger, Alexa D. Terribilini, Sarah L. Tilton, Justin F. Traino, Charles E. Trouba, Emma J. Vetland, Ryan M. Wiesenberg, and Julia M. Wright.

Eighteen Avon Grove students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are Asa M. Budnick, Karina Cuevas-Mora, Joseph DelFerro, Marcus L. Forst, Sarah Grant, Nathan Horton, James R. Kennedy, Kunal S. Lobo, Joshua E. Matalon, Molly C. McMahon, Savanna M. Morrison, Jenna M. O’Brien, Luciana B. Pawliczek, Shay M. Pilot, Matthew D. Rollings, Alexandria N. Ruf, Ethan D. Schaeffer, and Neill Squadron. 

A total of 43 Avon Grove students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with grades of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are Gregory D. Belson, Sophie M. Boddorff, Natalie P. Boyd, Hannah L. Bright, Emily R. Broadbent, Rachel M. Carlin, Emily E. Castle, Garrett D. Compton, Rebekah-Mae Curran, Jason J. Fontana, Jennifer Gallagher, Jacob A. Gaz, Spencer M. Glackin, Kristian Grier, Luke A. Hanrahan, Philip Himmelstein, Kyla M. Jacobs, Matthew E. Jirak, Matthew G. Johnson, David A. Kramer, Brendan P. Lamb, Connor P. Lamson, Marie C. LeClaire, Rachel Lee, Andrew S. Lolli, Rachel E. Marks, Sara J. Matheny, Emily G. McCarthy, Chris J. McLimans, Erika S. Propst, Tyler M. Reger, Andrew G. Ruf, Brooke A. Ruggieri, Kathryn E. Russel, Cameron W. Schultz, Andrew T. Shelly, Kirsten Smith, Scott Stover, Lauren Tupper, Mary C. Vinciguerra; Brenna R. Waite, MacKenzie M. Walker, and Margaret N. Winter. 

Of this year’s award recipients at Avon Grove High School, 33 are seniors. These students have one more year in which to complete college-level work and possibly earn a higher-level AP Scholar Award.

More than 3,800 colleges and universities annually receive AP scores. Most four-year colleges in the United States provide credit and/or advanced placement for qualifying exam scores.