Skip to main content

Chester County Press

Lombardi and Thompson not seeking reelection in Oxford Borough

04/16/2019 11:49AM ● By Steven Hoffman

The Primary Election is now less than five weeks away. In Oxford Borough, two of borough council's longest-serving members—Sue Lombardi and John Thompson—have decided not to seek reelection this year.

Lombardi, who currently serves as council president, is finishing up her twelfth year on council. Thompson, meanwhile, has served two terms and is finishing up his eighth year on council.

“I think two terms is enough for me,” Thompson said before the council meeting on Monday night.

Thompson said that he is proud of how borough council members have worked collaboratively on a wide variety of issues during his time on council. He noted that while some people think that elected officials from the different political parties don't work well together, his experience was that borough council members always set aside their party affiliations to do what was best for the borough.

Thompson said that the hiring of Brian Hoover as a borough manager and Sam Iacono as the new police chief are accomplishments by council that he is particularly proud of.

The construction of a new multimodal transportation center is another project that Thompson is proud to be a part of during his time on council.

Lombardi, like Thompson, said that while she enjoyed her time serving the borough, it was the right time to step aside.

“It just seemed like the right time to stop,” Lombardi said.

She mentioned the streetscape improvements that the borough has undergone, the project that resulted in a new police station, and the parking garage project as some of council’s accomplishments that she is most proud of during her three terms in office.

“I think we've made a lot of progress,” she said.

Her favorite part of serving on council was working collaboratively with the other council members to improve the borough.

With Lombardi and Thompson deciding not to seek another term, the only incumbent on the ballot will be Peggy Ann Russell. There are a total of three council seats up for election this year and eight candidates who have filed so far. The Democrats include Russell, Kathryn Goodley Cloyd, and Marybeth Rizzo Moore, while the Republicans are Mary Lou Baily, Joseph B. Emhof III, Philip Harris, Joseph Martinelli, and Michele Rich-Ianieri. With three seats up for election, there could be three Democrats and three Republicans who emerge from the Primary Election and earn spots on the ballot for the General Election.

Like what you're reading? Subscribe to Chester County's free newsletter to catch every headline