Skip to main content

College Board names 91 AP scholars from Avon Grove High School

12/18/2013 09:07AM, Published by ACL, Categories: In Print, Schools

A total of 91 students from Avon Grove High School earned AP Scholar Awards in 2013 in recognition of their achievement on AP Exams, including five graduates who earned National AP Scholar honors,  the highest award possible. 

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program (AP) provides students with the opportunity to take college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams, which are scored from 1 to 5, with 5 being the highest score.

The National AP Scholar award is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Avon Grove High School’s National AP Scholars are Christopher L. Gutnajer, Anne C. Lertola, Justin T. Ramberger, Sarah L. Tilton, and Charles E. Trouba.

A total of 30 Avon Grove students, including the five National AP Scholars, qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are Colin N. Bartley, Emily O. Beale, Connor E. Carr, Nicole E. Cimabue, Sean Cleary, Brendan A. Cote, Derek M. Cote, Ryan A. Cowan, Matthew N. Criscuolo, Arthur C. Forbes, Alyssa L. Francis, Richard T. Gardner, Bradley Gimbernat, Christopher L. Gutnajer, Carli L. Huber, Matthew D. Kelly, Anne C. Lertola, Nicholas L. Ly, Sarita P. March, Erin E. Mitchell, Christopher J. Persaud, Hannah M. Poore, Justin T. Ramberger, Alexa D. Terribilini, Sarah L. Tilton, Justin F. Traino, Charles E. Trouba, Emma J. Vetland, Ryan M. Wiesenberg, and Julia M. Wright.

Eighteen Avon Grove students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are Asa M. Budnick, Karina Cuevas-Mora, Joseph DelFerro, Marcus L. Forst, Sarah Grant, Nathan Horton, James R. Kennedy, Kunal S. Lobo, Joshua E. Matalon, Molly C. McMahon, Savanna M. Morrison, Jenna M. O’Brien, Luciana B. Pawliczek, Shay M. Pilot, Matthew D. Rollings, Alexandria N. Ruf, Ethan D. Schaeffer, and Neill Squadron. 

A total of 43 Avon Grove students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with grades of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are Gregory D. Belson, Sophie M. Boddorff, Natalie P. Boyd, Hannah L. Bright, Emily R. Broadbent, Rachel M. Carlin, Emily E. Castle, Garrett D. Compton, Rebekah-Mae Curran, Jason J. Fontana, Jennifer Gallagher, Jacob A. Gaz, Spencer M. Glackin, Kristian Grier, Luke A. Hanrahan, Philip Himmelstein, Kyla M. Jacobs, Matthew E. Jirak, Matthew G. Johnson, David A. Kramer, Brendan P. Lamb, Connor P. Lamson, Marie C. LeClaire, Rachel Lee, Andrew S. Lolli, Rachel E. Marks, Sara J. Matheny, Emily G. McCarthy, Chris J. McLimans, Erika S. Propst, Tyler M. Reger, Andrew G. Ruf, Brooke A. Ruggieri, Kathryn E. Russel, Cameron W. Schultz, Andrew T. Shelly, Kirsten Smith, Scott Stover, Lauren Tupper, Mary C. Vinciguerra; Brenna R. Waite, MacKenzie M. Walker, and Margaret N. Winter. 

Of this year’s award recipients at Avon Grove High School, 33 are seniors. These students have one more year in which to complete college-level work and possibly earn a higher-level AP Scholar Award.

More than 3,800 colleges and universities annually receive AP scores. Most four-year colleges in the United States provide credit and/or advanced placement for qualifying exam scores.

avon grove high school ap scholars ap exam college board’s advanced placement program national ap scholar honors

You might also like


The required and acquired love of books

Local high schools' summer reading lists introduce students to both classics and modern literature.

Avon Grove grad interns for Sen. Toomey

Michael Eaverly, of London Grove, will intern in his Washington office this summer, working on education, judicial, labor, and commerce issues.

  • Longwood Fire Company’s annual open house will be held for the first time under the stars on Thur...

  • Sherry Dinner

    07:00pm — 10:00pm

    The Yardley Inn is hosting an exclusive Sherry Dinner on Thursday, October 23, 2014. Enjoy a mea...

  • Zoo Yoga: OM’ing Otters

    09:15am — 10:15am

    (Ages 4-7 years old) Weekly Saturdays or Sundays, September-November (Classes held in the Educati...

  • Flying Colors Fine Artists Show and Sale

    10:00am — 05:00pm

    Flying Colors will host its Annual Art Show and Sale from October 24 to October 26, 2014 at The M...

  • Saturday Zoo Tales

    10:30am — 11:00am

    Join us for a fun, animal or nature themed story and a visit from one of our fun program animals!...

  • ChesLen Chase for Open Space


    Get ready to run for nature at Natural Lands Trust’s epic ChesLen Chase for Open Space, with 10K,...

  • Flying Colors Fine Artists Show and Sale

    10:00am — 05:00pm

    Flying Colors will host its Annual Art Show and Sale from October 24 to October 26, 2014 at The M...

  • Taste Kennett Food Tours

    01:00pm — 04:00pm

    Taste Kennett Food Tours, creators of memorable, unique and fun food experiences, offer three-hou...


    03:00pm — 05:00pm

    THE NEWARK SYMPHONY PRESENTS “Fall in Italy” Simeone Tartaglione, Music Director Sunday, Octobe...

It looks like we don't have any events for this date. You can always add an event.

Chester County High School Sports